MiddleJunior High School Educators

Middle School: in search of strategies, resources, any advice!!

• 1.  Middle School: in search of strategies, resources, any advice!!

Posted 07-19-2018 09:59
    Good morning fellow teachers!
    My name is Claire Jette.  I have taught FRENCH 3 years at the college level in VA, 5 years at the high school level in NY, and I will now be teaching in a Middle School in NJ starting in September!  I'm very excited for this new opportunity and I am reaching out to this community for advice.  In my position, I will teach 6th (complete beginners), 7th and 8th grade students every other day for 50 minutes (with the exception of 8th graders whom I will teach every day for 50 minutes).  Here are some topics I would love some insight/advice on:
    - first days of lesson plans: how to use maximum amount of immersion with beginners while setting a positive tone (getting to know each other, creating a warm environment where students are not fearful etc).  I'm thinking games will be important and any specific ideas are most welcome!
    - pacing:  Having taught upper level, AP etc courses, I am used to needing to work at a fast pace with students.  My new teaching experience will be quite the opposite.  Any suggestions on how to slow it down yet keep it fun?, how to reinforce a particular topic in different ways?
    -On-line resources geared towards beginners, advanced beginners (French): the district may be willing to purchase some online materials so if you have opinions on your personal favorites, please lmk (or even better if some of the materials are free:)
    - advice on best practices with this age group - I know this is a whole new world compared to high school:))
    As you can see, I have many questions.  I would love to hear back from teachers experiences in this area.  I want to thank you for taking the time to read my message - I really appreciate it!
    Happy Summer,
    Claire Jette

------------------------------