Topic Thread

Credit Retrieval course for World Languages

• 1.  Credit Retrieval course for World Languages

Posted 04-11-2018 12:05
    My School District is trying to find a variety of strategies to help students get credit for graduation for a World Language course.  Of course as a previous Spanish teacher myself I believe deeply that the best way to learn the language and to show competency is to take the course and/or study in an immersion program.
    Unfortunately, not every student has such an option so I have been tasked with investigating other means for students to retrieve a credit in either a Spanish, French, German, or Japanese course.
    Please let me know what you might have seen used and/or use in your own schools or districts.
    Thank you so much for your time and information sharing,
    T

------------------------------
    Tami Moffatt
    tmoffatt@cloverpark.k12.wa.us

• 2.  RE: Credit Retrieval course for World Languages

Posted 04-12-2018 10:10
    HI,
    My school (private, Christian, K-12) has an academy program where
    students take classes part-time on campus and have other commitments, 
    i.e. film industry, sports, etc.
    We have used the Middlebury College online program for the academy
    students.  
    While it is not the perfect, every day face-to-face interaction,
    it is an excellent program from an highly accredited 
    and respected source.
    Just a thought for you.
    Caroline

--
    Caroline Ridenour
    French Teacher
    Heritage Christian Schools
    818 894-5742

• 3.  RE: Credit Retrieval course for World Languages

Posted 04-13-2018 16:28
    Hi Tami,

I'm not sure what I replied to Elizabeth can be seen by you, so I'm writing again.