Topic Thread

1.  what are the standard content of all target languages?

Posted 20 days ago
Edited by Joseph May 20 days ago
Hi everyone

I am new to ACTFL.  I currently teach American Sign Language (ASL).  I happen to read a few different language textbooks...I noticed the similarities of the curriculum in those target language, unlike ASL.  So far only one textbook (Master ASL!) used ACTFL standards, but I am looking for the content in a curriculum that all target language educators usually use to teach in their classrooms.   a good example that I happened to find from the California Dept of Education on foreign language (https://www.cde.ca.gov/be/st/ss/documents/worldlanguage2009.pdf) .  I am not going to list all stages of those content -- just first stage and I know you know what I am trying to say.

Stage I
1.0 Students acquire information, recognize distinctive viewpoints, and further their knowledge
of other disciplines.
1.1 Students address discrete elements of daily life, including:
a. Greetings and introductions
b. Family and friends
c. Pets
d. Home and neighborhood
e. Celebrations, holidays, and rites of passage
f. Calendar, seasons, and weather
g. Leisure, hobbies and activities, songs, toys and games, sports
h. Vacations and travel, maps, destinations, and geography
i. School, classroom, schedules, subjects, numbers, time, directions
j. Important dates in the target culture
k. Jobs
l. Food, meals, restaurants
m. Shopping, clothes, colors, and sizes
n. Parts of the body, illness
o. Technology

just an idea... I am looking for that from ACTFL website..where can I find those content information so I can develop my curriculum for my ASL classes.  I tried to copy the content from those target language textbooks but I could not comprehend what they were talking about, of course.  Master ASL! textbook is not sufficient for me to get a better picture of what the standard curriculum is like compared to all other target languages.