Topic Thread

1.  TPRS and CI

Posted 20 days ago
Greetings everyone.  I'm a veteran teacher (27 yrs), and have taught grammar most of this time (Spanish/French; levels 1-3).  Am reading and getting very excited by CI and TPRS.  Studied Krashen and SLA in my last grad program 15 yrs ago, and seeing lots about it these days.  Would like to know how those who are practicing it now find it.  Also, wondering if we use this at high school level, will our students be prepared for their first class(s) at college level.  Thanks to all.

Lucy Holmes

2.  RE: TPRS and CI

Posted 20 days ago
Estoy totalmente de acuerdo.

------------------------------
Gisela Cordero-Cinko
gcorderocinko@gmail.com

3.  RE: TPRS and CI

Posted 19 days ago
​I use TPRS and TPR in a variety of ways. I am a Spanish and French teacher in my 32nd year of education, and I find it to be very effective in student learning. They actually learn without consciously realizing it. It is the closest experience to immersion that I can do in a high school setting. I begin from day one, but I also use English to supplement classroom instructions and to clarify, especially when teaching grammar as it strengthens their knowledge of English as well as the foreign language when I explain the grammar.

In Spanish 3, it's all Spanish. I became a TPR and TPRS practitioner when doing my master's final project 20 years ago, and I have been a fan ever since.

Pamela Harris
kceltic@charter.net

4.  RE: TPRS and CI

Posted 19 days ago