Topic Thread

Topic: AAPPL Data Talk

1.  AAPPL Data Talk

Posted 30 days ago
Dear Language Educators Community,

My name is Fatima Baroudi and I am an Arabic teacher and World Language Department Coordinator at my school American Cooperative School of Tunis. For assessment we have been using AAPPL test as an external assessment for 4 years now. Even though this test is a performance test, we use as an external assessment to all students ( heritage and non-heritage) except for the IB students. We never prepare the students for this test and we don't necessarily follow the same topics that are covered in the tests, so in a way we use it as a proficiency test. I was wondering who among you use this test. Who do you give it to? How often do you give to? How do you use the collected data? Do you go over the students writing and oral performance? Do you find the scores go with the score descriptors? All of these are questions that we always ask in my department and we would love to hear from other schools' experiences. Shukran Jazeelan!

------------------------------
Fatima Baroudi
fbaroudi@acst.net

2.  RE: AAPPL Data Talk

Posted 29 days ago
Good evening,

My name is Gisela Cordero-Cinko and I am a Spanish teacher in the state of New Jersey. I am not familiar with the test you mentioned but I am familiar with the STAMP exam, which is similar to the one you mentioned. We also ask our students to take the test without preparing them in order to assess their proficiency level, we use it as our benchmark in their junior year. This allows us to see where our students are and which areas we need to work on in their last year of studying a language as seniors for those who choose to continue.